Cameroon GCE Grading

GCE grading in cameroon

Grading is a process of evaluating and providing feedback on student work. It is important for schools because it can serve various purposes, such as:

  • Boosting self-confidence: Grades can help students feel proud of their achievements and motivate them to keep learning.
  • Tackling inequity: Grades can also reveal the gaps and disparities among different groups of students, such as students with disabilities, and English language learners. This can prompt schools to take action and make grading fairer and more consistent.
  • Opening doors to quality higher education. Grades are often the first criterion that colleges and universities use to admit or reject applicants. Higher grades can increase the chances of getting into competitive and prestigious programs, such as law school, medical school, or business school.
  • Making mastery the goal: Grades can reflect how well students have learned the essential skills and knowledge of a subject or a course. By using standards-based grading, teachers can align their assessments with the learning objectives and provide clear and specific feedback to students.
  • Communicating expectations and progress: Grades can communicate to students, parents, and other stakeholders what is expected of them and how they are performing in relation to those expectations.

A grading system can also have some limitations and challenges, such as:

  • Creating stress and anxiety among students who feel pressured to achieve high grades or compete with others.
  • Reducing the intrinsic motivation and interest of students who focus more on the grades than the learning process.
  • Encouraging cheating or plagiarism among students who want to obtain higher grades by unfair means.
  • Discriminating or disadvantaging students who have different learning styles, abilities, backgrounds, or circumstances.
  • Being influenced by subjective factors such as teacher bias, grading errors, or test difficulty.

The Cameroon grading system.

There exist 2 grading systems at the level of the GCE examinations in Cameroon. In this article, we’re briefly going to look at those 2 grading systems.

  1. GCE A Level Grading system: A, B, C, D, E, O, and F
  2. GCE O Level Grading system: A, B, C, and U

Cameroon GCE Grading Structure

Letter grades are used, and below is the grading system used by the Cameroon GCE board for the examinations it administers.

GCE A level grading system

Advanced level (or A level) is a qualification that is offered by various educational systems in the UK and some other countries such as Cameroon.

A level exams are graded on a scale of A to E, where A is the highest grade and E is the lowest passing grade. Grades such as O and F are awarded upon failure.

The grade thresholds for each A level exam are determined after the exam series is over, based on the difficulty and quality of the questions and the performance of the candidates. The grade thresholds are the minimum number of marks that a candidate needs to obtain a particular grade in a paper or in a subject.

Below is a general guideline GCE A level grading:

A90% – 100%
B80% – 89%
C70% – 79%
D60% – 69%
E50% – 59%
040% – 49%
F< 40%

GCE O level grading system

The ordinary level (O-Level) is a subject-based qualification that is used in several countries, including Cameroon, Singapore, Malaysia, and Brunei.

The O Level grading system is based on a letter scale from A to C, with U being the lowest fail grade and A being the highest. The grades are determined based on the student’s performance on the final examination.

The mark allocations for each grade vary depending on the subject and the examination board. However, a general guideline is as follows:

A80% – 100%
B60% – 79%
C40% – 59%
F< 40%

Significance of the Letters of the Cameroon GCE Grading System

  • GCE O Level Grading scale: A, B, C, U: Letter grades A, B, and C represent a passing grade, with the A grade being the highest and the C grade being the lowest, and U (unclassified) representing a fail. Grades lower than C are not stated on the certificate.
  • GCE A Level Grading scale: A, B, C, D, E, O or F: Letter grades A, B, C, D, and E, represent a passing grade, with the A grade being the highest and the E grade being the lowest. An F (fail) is not a passing grade and is not stated on the certificate.


A grading system is an important tool for education, but it should be used with caution and care.

A grading system should be fair, transparent, consistent, and valid. It should reflect the learning objectives and outcomes of the curriculum.

It should also be flexible and adaptable to the needs and diversity of the students.

Finally, a grading system should not be the only or the final measure of student learning, but rather a part of a comprehensive and holistic assessment system that includes formative and summative assessments, self and peer assessments, and qualitative and quantitative feedback.

A grading system should ultimately serve the purpose of enhancing the learning experience and outcomes of the students.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *